Dear Benedict: Go to hell!

This print from Martin Luther’s Wider das Bapstum zu Rom vom Teuffel gestifft, (Against the Papacy founded by the Devil, 1545) depicts the Pope with ass’s ears sitting on a pyre erected in the mouth of Hell, represented by an enormous monster. The Pope, with hands held together in prayer is surrounded by demons who fly around him and hold the papal tiara above his head.

Reform minded blindness

It is Holy Thursday.  The day during Holy Week that the church commemorates the institution of the Eucharist and the Sacrament of Ordination. I will spend the entire evening and into the early morning hours of Good Friday alone in the church praying with Jesus Christ–body, blood, soul, and divinity truly present within the Most Holy Sacrament of the altar–The Eucharist.

This morning I learned who I’ll be praying for: Pope Benedict The XVI and all who have validly received the Sacrament of Holy Orders. But, particularly those who have strayed from the promises they made at ordination.

I will also be praying for this terribly misguided soul who just today wrote on the Facebook page of the dissident group, Call To Action, these very words:

Dear Benedict: Go to hell!

Note: As of 5pm P.S.T. Call To Action has yet to delete the offensive remark… To leave a charitable protest you can find their site here.

12 thoughts on “Dear Benedict: Go to hell!”

    1. Thank you Teresa. Just finished mass and prayers before the blessed sacrament for the protection of the pope and all priests. Had a very interesting discussion on the state of the church with a visiting priest from Uganda (before the Blessed Sacrament) tonight. Bottom line: we (I) need to pray more for the priesthood. J

      1. I am the aunt of a young (JPII) priest and a seminarian. I’ve been following the reporting of the trial of the two priests in Philadelphia. It is so painful for everyone – the victims, the guilty, the innocent (who may be presumed guilty), all priests, all the laity, everyone!. As I watched the priests processing into the Holy Thursday Liturgy at the Shrine in DC on EWTN tonight, I started to cry. How can one know what is going on inside a person? Looks can be decieving BUT so many of the priests looked deflated. I pray that they were just very intent on the seriousness of what was about to happen (or just tired since there are fewer priests who have to do more these days). It is not easy to be a priest right now – for many reasons. You and the priest from Uganda are correct. We must pray for our Holy Father, for our Bishops – for all priests – faithful and unfaithful. Without them, we have no Eucharist. Without the Eucharist, we have no Church. They have always been targeted by the Evil One. It’s getting worse. St Michael the Archangel, protect our priests. Amen. +

  1. how very sad…but also I take you to task for the title of your article …I believe another title would be better.

  2. I feel like I just visited the place depicted in the picture above. Seeing all the smiling faces of people who spit in the face of Our Lord and His Church by arrogantly deciding it is THEIRS to change as they wish made my skin crawl. I, thank God, have led a sheltered life. I hear about these dissident groups and know they are ‘out there’ somewhere but, going into their camp made it all too real. May God have Mercy on their souls and protect those who will be led astray by them. I, too, will pray for them tomorrow, Teresa.

  3. After going to that site, I feel like I just visited the place shown in the picture above. Looking at the smiling faces of those who spit in the face of Our Lord and His Church and arrogantly claim it is THEIRS to change as they wish made my skin crawl. I just realized that I, thank God, have led a sheltered life. I know there are dissidents ‘out there’ but visiting their camp made it all too real. May they come to accept the Mercy that God extends to them and return to Him. May He protect those who are led astray by them. I, too, will pray for them tomorrow, Teresa.

  4. When the devil is attacking the Pope, be assured that souls of the unfaithful are being won back to Christ. I see many souls coming back to Holy Mother Church, especially young souls, and Satan doesn’t like it one bit. Our Holy Father is winning the battle to reform the church and he will continue to save many souls.
    Pray the rosary and watch our Blessed Virgin Mary crush the head of the surpent. St. Michael the ArchAngel will defend us in battle. Pray the rosary everyday.

Leave a Reply

