Emergency Novena for Health Care Legislation

ED. NOTE: I received this today, please join The Orate Fratres Blog in these prayers…

The HEALTHCARE vote is very close. We must do all that we can to keep federal funding of abortion from increasing beyond the Hyde amendment language. This includes prayer. Below I have included a simple emergency novena to pray each day prior to any vote. This novena is attributed to Mother Teresa. It is very simple and merely involves saying the short Memorare prayer nine times throughout each day. We very much need Our Blessed Mother’s help.

_________________________________________________

  • We pray that any health care legislation will not include federal funding for abortion.

Remember, O most gracious Virgin Mary, that never was it known that anyone who fled to thy protection, implored thy help, or sought thine intercession was left unaided.

Inspired by this confidence, I fly unto thee, O Virgin of virgins, my mother; to thee do I come, before thee I stand, sinful and sorrowful. O Mother of the Word Incarnate, despise not my petitions, but in thy mercy hear and answer me.

Amen.

  • We pray that any health care legislation will include full protection of conscience rights for medical providers.

Remember, O most gracious Virgin Mary, that never was it known that anyone who fled to thy protection, implored thy help, or sought thine intercession was left unaided.

Inspired by this confidence, I fly unto thee, O Virgin of virgins, my mother; to thee do I come, before thee I stand, sinful and sorrowful. O Mother of the Word Incarnate, despise not my petitions, but in thy mercy hear and answer me.

Amen.

  • We pray that any health care legislation exclude mandated end of life counseling for elderly and disabled.

Remember, O most gracious Virgin Mary, that never was it known that anyone who fled to thy protection, implored thy help, or sought thine intercession was left unaided.

Inspired by this confidence, I fly unto thee, O Virgin of virgins, my mother; to thee do I come, before thee I stand, sinful and sorrowful. O Mother of the Word Incarnate, despise not my petitions, but in thy mercy hear and answer me.

Amen.

  • We pray that every individual will be able to exercise their right to health care that derives from the fundamental right to life.

Remember, O most gracious Virgin Mary, that never was it known that anyone who fled to thy protection, implored thy help, or sought thine intercession was left unaided.

Inspired by this confidence, I fly unto thee, O Virgin of virgins, my mother; to thee do I come, before thee I stand, sinful and sorrowful. O Mother of the Word Incarnate, despise not my petitions, but in thy mercy hear and answer me.

Amen.

  • We pray that the rights of individuals to have a direct say in their care, reflecting the principle of subsidiarity, will be supported.

Remember, O most gracious Virgin Mary, that never was it known that anyone who fled to thy protection, implored thy help, or sought thine intercession was left unaided.

Inspired by this confidence, I fly unto thee, O Virgin of virgins, my mother; to thee do I come, before thee I stand, sinful and sorrowful. O Mother of the Word Incarnate, despise not my petitions, but in thy mercy hear and answer me.

Amen.

  • We pray that, respectful of the principle of the common good, that we find some way to provide a safety net for people in need without diminishing personal responsibility or creating an inordinately bureaucratic structure.

Remember, O most gracious Virgin Mary, that never was it known that anyone who fled to thy protection, implored thy help, or sought thine intercession was left unaided.

Inspired by this confidence, I fly unto thee, O Virgin of virgins, my mother; to thee do I come, before thee I stand, sinful and sorrowful. O Mother of the Word Incarnate, despise not my petitions, but in thy mercy hear and answer me.

Amen.

  • We pray that the principle of solidarity be embraced recognizing our “connectedness” to each other.

Remember, O most gracious Virgin Mary, that never was it known that anyone who fled to thy protection, implored thy help, or sought thine intercession was left unaided.

Inspired by this confidence, I fly unto thee, O Virgin of virgins, my mother; to thee do I come, before thee I stand, sinful and sorrowful. O Mother of the Word Incarnate, despise not my petitions, but in thy mercy hear and answer me.

Amen.

  • We pray that all pro-life U.S. congressmen stand firm in their position of no expansion of federal funding of abortion.

Remember, O most gracious Virgin Mary, that never was it known that anyone who fled to thy protection, implored thy help, or sought thine intercession was left unaided.

Inspired by this confidence, I fly unto thee, O Virgin of virgins, my mother; to thee do I come, before thee I stand, sinful and sorrowful. O Mother of the Word Incarnate, despise not my petitions, but in thy mercy hear and answer me.

Amen.

  • We pray for a change of heart for those U.S. congressmen who desire to provide expanded federal funding of abortion.

Remember, O most gracious Virgin Mary, that never was it known that anyone who fled to thy protection, implored thy help, or sought thine intercession was left unaided.

Inspired by this confidence, I fly unto thee, O Virgin of virgins, my mother; to thee do I come, before thee I stand, sinful and sorrowful. O Mother of the Word Incarnate, despise not my petitions, but in thy mercy hear and answer me.

Amen.

6 thoughts on “Emergency Novena for Health Care Legislation”

  1. Mother Teresa actually used to say this novena nine times in a row. It can be finished in a matter of minutes. She had some knockout results from it. I have been using it a fair bit lately and also getting some good results. I have put two threads regarding this novena on my blog. It attracted some interesting replies from people telling of the benefits that they received through this novena.

    The first one is at:

    http://brendakaren.wordpress.com/2009/05/16/have-you-ever-prayed-the-mother-teresa-emergency-novena/

    and the second one is at:

    http://brendakaren.wordpress.com/2009/10/25/the-mother-teresa-emergency-novena-is-a-real-winner/

    Life is full of situations that need help immediately, not in a week’s time. If a mortgage is going to be foreclosed at lunchtime today, because you can’t pay it, a nine day novena or even an eight hour novena is not quiet the way to go!

    Think of this emergency novena as being like an express train. You have an appointment in the city at 11 a.m. so you catch the express train that speeds pass many stations, not the slow train that stops and picks up passengers at every station! Think also that you leave at petition station and arrive at miracle station! I like to see a picture of Mother Theresa on outside of the train, with the words: Mother Theresa Express novena on it.

    Having said all that, I will pray for the intention. I am in Australia, but the protection of the unborn is a world wide problem.

    1. Mary Ann,

      Thanks so much on the information concerning this novena. I just visited your site; excellent. I’m linking up to your blog, and feel free to do the same with mine if you find Fratres worthy…

      Blessings to you and yours,

      JME

  2. The spelling of Teresa: I often mistype Mother Teresa’s name as Mother Theresa and have to go back and correct it. The problem is that my sister’s name is Theresa and mum actually named her after St. Therese!

    1. Hi Tom, I’ll let you have at it:

      U.S. Bishops Provide Resources Explaining Flaws In Senate Health Care Bill

      WASHINGTON—The United States Conference of Catholic Bishops (USCCB) has made available several new resources explaining its calls for essential changes to the Senate health care reform bill. In a March 15 statement, Cardinal Francis George of Chicago, President of the USCCB, said that the U.S. bishops would, regretfully, have to oppose the final bill if these changes were not made.

      The resources are available at: http://www.usccb.org/healthcare

      Among them is an analysis of the abortion funding provisions of the Senate health care bill that highlights the bishops’ objections (www.usccb.org/healthcare/030410facts.pdf). Two pieces respond to recent criticisms of the bishops’ position on the health care bill, namely criticisms from Timothy Stoltzfus Jost of Washington and Lee University Law School (www.usccb.org/healthcare/jost-response.pdf) and the other regarding the funding of abortion at community health centers (www.usccb.org/healthcare/communityhealthcenters.pdf).

      With so much of the health care debate focusing on the nature of the legal “status quo” of federal abortion funding, the page also features a backgrounder on current federal policy on abortion funding (www.usccb.org/prolife/issues/healthcare/abortion_funding_102309.pdf) and an analysis of the House health care bill’s Stupak Amendment (www.usccb.org/healthcare/StupakAmendmentFactsheet.pdf).

      Keywords: U.S. Bishops, USCCB, United States Conference of Catholic Bishops, health care reform, Senate bill, backgrounders, Pro-Life, abortion funding, Community Health Centers

Leave a Reply

